Hello, sadness

AC

It has been a long time since we last met. It’s nice to see you again – and I say that with utmost sincerity and not even a hint of sarcasm, although that may be hard to believe.

I can’t remember the last time we had such close encounter. It must have been a really long time ago and I’m glad you dropped by to say hello again. I know you have a thing or two to teach me, important things to say, and an experience I could learn from.

I, too, have something to tell you in return. I am happy you are here. July has been the cruelest month but I can’t help but be thankful for all the pain it has brought me. I know I need this more than anything right now and I’m glad you’re there to help.

Your presence, although rare, always leads to a meaningful encounter – always a stepping stone to a greater happiness.

To The Wonder by Adrian Tomine

I know you won’t be here for long so I’m here to relish this moment, to cherish this pain, to remember all that you are going to say. I might not remember everything – I apologize in advance for my faulty memory – but I know I will keep everything you’ve taught me in my heart. Someday, I hope to remember them when the necessity arises, when I need to be reminded that I am human after all and susceptible to great amounts of pain.

I know you mean well, and I know I will come out of this all the better. For now, I say hello again and thank you, old friend, for teaching me how to leave live.

Leave a Reply

