What are great weekends made of?

It’s not who you want to spend Friday night with, it’s who you want to spend all day Saturday with. (Friends with Benefits)

We had our weekend all planned out. We were supposed to pay a visit to my grandfather who lives in Los Banos, Laguna in time for his birthday. Apparently, my cousin who was staying there acquired german measles so our trip got cancelled.

Not of even the tiniest bit of help was Smart Bro which was the reason why I didn’t have Internet since Friday night. I’m usually heavily dependent on Facebook, Twitter and Google for random trip ideas but since e-loading was experiencing downtime, I didn’t have a loyal sidekick this time.

With no concrete plans in mind, we were out of ideas but we have all the time. I popped in a DVD of Before Sunrise, something Joel hadn’t fully seen before. While watching the movie, I suggested we head off to Manila to catch MV Logos Hope, the travelling ship full of books for sale. I’ve heard about the MV Doulos coming over to the Philippines before but I never got the chance to give it a visit. This time, I wanted to experience what’s in store for me inside the new ship before it leaves. With the help of Yen, Joel and I were off to the South Harbor Pier in no time.

We arrived right after lunch, when there weren’t too many people yet. We enjoyed the sight of so many books and got overwhelmed by their affordable prices. (Thank God, the conversion rate was 1:1 so I didn’t have a headache how much I should spend. LOL.) On our way out, thanks to Yen’s advice, we treated ourselves to a cup of their vanilla and chocolate ice cream.

Since we were already in the area, we went to Luneta to pay Rizal a visit. It has been such a long time since I last went there – I couldn’t even exactly remember if I had already really been there before. We walked the block and found out there was a simple water and sound show at the park.

Afterwards, we capped the day with a night swim back at the condo and we also found it necessary to watch Before Sunset – just because.

I always feel this pressure of being a strong and independent icon of womanhood, and without making it look my whole life is revolving around some guy. But loving someone, and being loved means so much to me. We always make fun of it and stuff. But isn’t everything we do in life a way to be loved a little more? (Celine, Before Sunrise)

2 thoughts on “What are great weekends made of?

  1. Great weekend, indeed! I’ve always loved those two movies, especially Before Sunrise. There’s something so appealing about the concept of staying up all night hanging out with a stranger. A traveling ship full of books? *drooooool*

    • Funny how there are two kinds of people: one who can stand how the movie is just one long conversation, and one who can’t. I could listen to them talk all day (or night). 🙂

      I really wish we have really nice, dainty cafes here in Manila – like the ones in Europe, or maybe the ones in Greenwich Village. Haha.

Leave a Reply

