Thinking through midway 2011

While I was searching through my stuff for my year-end rundown, I ended up with a lot of quotes. I guess I was mulling over things over and over. Apparently, my sanity depended largely on the arts, literature, pop culture and media.

The thing I hate the most about advertising is that it attracts all the bright, creative and ambitious young people, leaving us mainly with the slow and self-obsessed to become our artists. Modern art is a disaster area. Never in the field of human history has so much been used by so many to say so little.
– Banksy

Don’t search for the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is, to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps then, someday far in the future, you will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the answer.
– Letters to a Young Poet, Rainer Maria Rilke

It’s only right that you should play the way you feel it but listen carefully to the sound of your loneliness – like a heartbeat – drives you mad in the stillness of remembering what you had and what you lost…
– Dreams, Fleetwood Mac

Now our lives are changing fast… Hope that something pure can last…
– We Used to Wait, Arcade Fire

Zoe: Alright, what do you have to say for yourself?
Ted: I don’t know. Sometimes, things fall apart to make way for better things.
– How I Met Your Mother S6 E23

I know I’m not gonna settle ‘til I find what I’m looking for… Something different, something more, some sort of counter intuitive love… Meaning I don’t know what I want. I only know what I don’t what.
– Vicky in Vicky, Cristina, Barcelona

Love? Be it man. Be it woman. It must be a wave you want to glide in on, give your body to it, give your laugh to it, give, when the gravelly sand takes you, your tears to the land. To love another is something like prayer and can’t be planned, you just fall into its arms because your belief undoes your disbelief.
– from Admonitions to a Special Person by Anne Sexton

Leave a Reply

