A birthday note

I cannot, could not, will not write decent poetry. Instead, here’s something I lifted from Sylvia Plath’s earlier poetry as a note for a certain poet/birthday girl. It would have been nice to be seated in a classroom filled with people interested in dissecting great literature and hear what they thought of this.

Happy birthday, Eva Gee!

To Eva Descending the Stair
Sylvia Plath

Clocks cry: stillness is a lie, my dear;
The wheels revolve, the universe keeps running.
(Proud you halt upon the spiral stair.)

The asteroids turn traitor in the air,
And planets plot with old elliptic cunning;
Clocks cry: stillness is a lie, my dear.

Red the unraveled rose sings in your hair:
Blood springs eternal if the heart be burning.
(Proud you halt upon the spiral stair.)

Cryptic stars wind up the atmosphere,
In solar schemes the titled suns go turning;
Clocks cry: stillness is a lie, my dear.

Loud the immortal nightingales declare:
Love flames forever if the flesh be yearning.
(Proud you halt upon the spiral stair.)

Circling zodiac compels the year.
Intolerant beauty never will be learning.
Clocks cry: stillness is a lie, my dear.
(Proud you halt upon the spiral stair.)

One thought on “A birthday note

  1. super thoughtful, quelits. miss you muchly.

    this is part of poem 6 called witch burning under the main poem, poems for a birthday, also by s. plath. don’t you just love the rhythm and imagery? “Give me back my shape. I am ready to construe the days
    I coupled with dust in the shadow of a stone.
    My ankles brighten. Brightness ascends my thighs.
    I am lost, I am lost, in the robes of all this light.”

Leave a Reply

